10bit recording but not recorded in HDR?
641 23 4-4 14:54
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
TheStriff
lvl.1
Flight distance : 24839 ft
Australia

I'm fairly new to the Osmo, jsut bout tw oweeks ago the Action 4.

Reading this faq DJI Osmo Action 4 - FAQ - DJI
it says "Videos recorded by Osmo Action 4 have a high dynamic range making an HDR mode unnecessary."

So is that sayng, there's no HDR mode.

Curious as I have tried HEVC with normal abd D-Log.
Media info shows the video in both circomstances is 10bit, but using BT.709 (Rec709)

So makes no point in trying to save using Rec 2020 for example?
I've seen a few Youtube videos \ posts on the Osmo Action about using the DJI Rec 709 lut, but this is  alimited colour space, and people wanting DJI to produce a Rec2020 lut. But what would the point be, when the colour space procduced is only 709?

Cheers
4-4 14:54
Use props
Reiner.
lvl.4
Germany

For not feeling alone with your frustration: see here.
4-4 18:50
Use props
TheStriff
lvl.1
Australia

Reiner. Posted at 4-4 18:50
For not feeling alone with your frustration: see here.

I read that.
But more confused.
They are saying or asking for DJI to provide a Lut for 2100 HLG./ DCTL's

But the camera is only producing Rec 709 anyway, not sure how putting something in a limited colour space, into an expended colour space will help...
To add, not familar with what DCTL's are...
Maybe I'm misunderstanding something.

Thanks
4-4 19:18
Use props
DJI Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft

Hi there. Thank you for reaching out. The videos captured in the normal video mode by Osmo Action 4 are high dynamic range videos and there is No separate HDR mode. DJI Osmo Action 4 uses DCG HDR, an HDR technology on the camera sensor. The footage shot in normal video mode has a high dynamic range effect without losing details in the highlights, the details in the dark will also be recorded well. We appreciate your understanding.

4-4 20:29
Use props
TheStriff
lvl.1