Return to home failed?
7057 10 2017-1-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
manesjeff
New

United States

I'm a drone newbie and I've had a few times where I press return to home and it says "return to home failed". This has so far only happened when the drone is far away but still within sightline, or when I can still see the fpv on my phone, so it hasn't resulted in a flyaway or a crash yet, but if return to home fails and I've lost connection I'm fairly certain I'd lose my drone.
What causes this return to home failure? What happens when it fails, does the drone drop or hover or fly in my direction or what? Most importantly, how can I avoid this return to home failure in the future?

Any information is interesting and useful, thanks.
2017-1-5
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Perhaps you need to reset your home point, and you might also want to reset the RTH height. Delete and set it again.
Something like those may help trigger your RTH to respond correctly. If those won't help, you may try reinstalling the app.

I couldn't suggest anything beyond those "guesses".

RedHotPoker
2017-1-5
Use props
BillW50
lvl.3

United States

Good thing you are asking why now and not later after it flew away. Well it makes sense to me if GPS mode isn't available. That means not enough GPS satellites, compass error, or some other sensor error.

I always wished it was smart enough to figure out ok we can't trust this or that and attempt to limp back on less inputs. But of course ask the pilot first and tell what its plan was and if it is ok? And if out of radio range, just try on its own anyway and hope for the best.
2017-1-5
Use props
Microcyb
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1095955 ft
United States

Before any takeoffs, make sure that your RTH point is set.  Many people make the mistake of trying to lift off right away the second they turn the bird on.
2017-1-5
Use props
MerlinL14
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2858 ft
United Kingdom