Very First PowerUp In a No Fly Zone
1201 7 2017-6-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans722b4b41
New
United States

Greetings:  As a brand newbie, I'm awaiting delivery of my P3Standard with baited breath, or something like it.  Eventually I will hope to record rail subjects, and some other outdoor objects.  I live in San Jose, definitely inside a no fly zone.  However, just for a very very raw beginning, is there a mode whereby I can power it up out on our backyard lawn, and at least get the thing up to rooftop level, just to get a very bare concept and feel of it?
Thanks for any comments! Norm
2017-6-17
Use props
DJI-Jamie
DJI team
Flight distance : 112405 ft
United States

You won't be able to start the motors at all if you're in a no fly zone without the proper authorization. The simulator is the most you can do. Depending on what color the NFZ is, you could self authorize to allow yourself to fly:

http://www.dji.com/flysafe/geo-system
2017-6-17
Use props
WIMO
lvl.2
Netherlands

I would not recommend flying in a no fly zone or without a distance lock that you not fly too high and not too far, I not sure if every one has this but when you dont connect to wifi to load the map you can fly in a no fly zone
2017-6-18
Use props
fans722b4b41
New
United States

WIMO Posted at 2017-6-18 10:31
I would not recommend flying in a no fly zone or without a distance lock that you not fly too high and not too far, I not sure if every one has this but when you dont connect to wifi to load the map you can fly in a no fly zone

Thanks, WIMO.  Just to lift the thing 4 feet perhaps, and not even to the roof top (I gave even that idea up).  That's ALL I was hoping for here.  I have more sense than to do anything else.  If I can AT LEAST get it up and back down within 4 feet height, than I will feel confident enough to go out to a proper area and work with it.  I've already found a spot north of here, a very open, excellent place, and outside of either NFZ.