when is it too hot to fly?
2657 7 2017-8-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Bluebus19
lvl.1
United States

Hey everyone, Im new to piloting a drone and I live in Sunny CA.  For those of you who are not formilar with the state, CA can get really hot in certain places (100 plus degree is common). So i just wanted to know, what is the hottest tempiture I could safely fly my drone? The last thing i want is something to mess up or have the drone fall from the sky due to heat.  
2017-8-3
Use props
TheCyberKnight
lvl.3
Canada

The manual states the following operating temperatures:
  • For the Spark, 32 ~ 104 F (0 ~ 40 C)
  • For the intelligent batteries, 41 ~ 104 F (5 ~ 40 C)

Considering it's in the air, you may have a small additional margin.

2017-8-3
Use props
SteelTallon
lvl.2
Flight distance : 204094 ft
  • >>>
United States

I flew mine in southern Idaho last month, on average it was 105 +-.  Although, both the Mavic and Spark flew ok.  I would not recommend it, they were both HOT to the touch and my phone was the same.  I stopped flying, as it made me nervous.
2017-8-3
Use props
Bluebus19
lvl.1
United States

Thanks for the info.
2017-8-3
Use props
Charles Adams
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3821312 ft
  • >>>
United States

I flew at the top end of the temp range, and it was the only time ever when using otg that I experienced connection issues.  Two temporary disconnects.  Fortunately I was able to land without incident.
2017-8-3
Use props
DJI Diana
Administrator
Flight distance : 2408 ft

You'll find it in the specifications of the Spark. Here is a link for your reference. http://www.dji.com/spark/info#specs
2017-8-3
Use props
HillcountryDron
lvl.1
Flight distance : 79544 ft
United States

I flew today in mid 90's but my iPad shut down from being too hot in the sun! Spark was fine but that was enough
2017-8-4
Use props
djiuser_TWQbZfB
lvl.3
Flight distance : 557818 ft
United States

HillcountryDron Posted at 2017-8-4 21:06