Flying inside an all metal building
2066 9 2015-5-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
propcut
lvl.1

United States

I have a P2V+ V3. I have been flying it for the past 6 months. I have several hours of flying it in ATTI mode. I have countless hours flying other cheaper non GPS multi rotors around parks and inside buildings. I've been approached by my employer to video a new section of recently installed tall machinery that is approximately 70 feet up. This flying would be done inside an all steel building. As long as my piloting skills are what I think they are and I am flying in ATTI mode will the P2V+ handle like a none GPS quad copter?

2015-5-21
Use props
Godfrey
lvl.2

United States

Tall machinery? You are aware that you risk damaging equipment in case you crash, right?

I would first see if the compass will work. Without props, turn on the App, RC, RE and Phantom. Move the phantom around the equipment you want to fly and see if you get any error messages from the app or the rear led. Try and calibrate the compass. If it all works, set your RTH altitude way below the ceiling or just cancel it outright. Good luck
2015-5-21
Use props
Gerry1124
Second Officer

United States

Godfrey Posted at 2015-5-21 17:14
Tall machinery? You are aware that you risk damaging equipment in case you crash, right?

I would fi ...

Without any GPS signal, you could not set your home point, so you would be flying in full manual mode with no RTH mode.
2015-5-21
Use props
Godfrey
lvl.2

United States

Gerry1124 Posted at 2015-5-21 17:22
Without any GPS signal, you could not set your home point, so you would be flying in full manual m ...

Hi Gerry, it won't shoot up in case  the phantom flies around the equipment and loose LOS? Cheers
2015-5-21
Use props
Gerry1124
Second Officer

United States

Godfrey Posted at 2015-5-21 17:25
Hi Gerry, it won't shoot up in case  the phantom flies around the equipment and loose LOS? Cheers