P3P "struggling" after flying as checked baggage
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
rodhassler
lvl.1

Australia

Hi All.

I just landed in Australia with my P3P (flew from Philadelphia). When I got to my motel room I opened my Microraptor case and discovered that:

1) The RC was popped open (top/bottom) and it looks like a couple internal screw posts snapped. I was able to press it back together though.
2) The silica back exploded everywhere. Annoying, but not serious.
3) The gimbal mount and the foam pad I had used to keep for stability were at the bottom of the case. The gimbal was hanging freely.

Visual inspection revealed no damage, rotating it in all directions sounded good too, so I didn't pop the top off and look inside. I cranked up the AC in my room and after 30 minutes I did a cold-ish IMU and gimbal calibration. Took it for a test flight where it flew okay except that it seems like it's struglling to maintain its position and the prop noise is noticeably louder. It felt less responsive to the sticks, like it didn't have as much power.

Wondering if I should take the case off and make sure there are no loose or broken motor mounts? I was hoping to avoid that until I get back to the US, but I need to fly it for some shots tomorrow.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance!

-Rod

2015-8-24
Use props
bastell
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1526929 ft
Australia

Have you hand spun the props? sound/noise ect?
2015-8-25
Use props
rodhassler
lvl.1

Australia

bastell Posted at 2015-8-25 16:38
Have you hand spun the props? sound/noise ect?

Yep, hand spun each prop and they're rotating freely. Applied lateral pressure as well and can't feel any give.
2015-8-25
Use props
Skater67
lvl.3
Flight distance : 417149 ft

Colombia

Thanks for posting.  When you check your luggage there is a good chance it will be opened and inspected.  Maybe someone got curious, took your DJI3 out of the case, and removed the gimbal protection.  Who knows what they did or didn't do.