4557 33 2016-12-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
67pa8lb0Q0T6
lvl.3
Flight distance : 526076 ft
United States

Hi everyone,

Newbie here. I bought the polar pro filters since I use them alot for scuba diving and assumed it would make my drone shots look good as well.

If I attached the filter before I power on the drone, I would get an error saying the gimbal is obstructed because when the startup checks the gimbal range of motion the filter gets in the way. I called Polar Pro and they said I should add the filter only after I have powered up. But if I do so it means I have to hold down the gimbal while I attach the filter. I don't normally have a stable surface to hold the drone and attach the filter so that means the gimbal's motor will be actively trying to stabalize itself while I hold it down and attach the filter. Is this bad for the gimbal motor?

Thanks,
Jon

2016-12-5
Use props
MavicUser
lvl.3
Flight distance : 431417 ft
Canada

Yes... If you are on a rocking/moving vehicle such as a boat, then once the Mavic is on, the gimble will sway/compensate for the movement, resulting in the gimble moving.  Trying to put on the filters in this situation could cause the gimble to overload, and could break the gimble as a result.  I would suggest you return these filters and wait for the Polar Pro Cinema filters or the Taco-RC filters, which are supposed to be able to be installed before initialisation.
2016-12-5
Use props
dotfiles
lvl.3

United States

As MavicUser said, I'll be waiting for the Polar Pro Cinema filters because you can install them before you power the drone on eliminating this whole issue

2016-12-5
Use props
fansebeed138
lvl.2
United States

so what is the difference between the PolarPro DJI Mavic Filter Professional 6-Pack, and the Polar Pro Cinema filters?

2016-12-5
Use props
MavicUser
lvl.3
Canada

fansebeed138 Posted at 2016-12-5 20:45