Powered upside down crash
1085 7 2017-1-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans8cf0d029
lvl.3
Flight distance : 124672 ft
United States

I took my Pantom 4 to 417 feet today and made one photograph, then started its decent.  I failed to restart the video recording so no video exists of this but I noticed the drone coming down faster than usual so I immediately applied full throttle up to slow the decent.  Then I noticed that the drone was upside down and falling faster.  It hit the ground on its back, propellers down and bounced some 15 inches.  The crash broke three propellers and got mud on the outside but after installing new propellers, it flew normal.  However the gimbal did not fully function and I got a Gimbal Motor Overload error.  My questions are:  1.  What caused the drone to flip over; 2. Can the gimbal motor overload be fixed without returning it for repair; and 3. How can I locate the flight data log to see what actually happened?

Thanks
WA5TEF
2017-1-21
Use props
StephenGSY
lvl.3
Flight distance : 814232 ft
Guernsey

Some serious issue with IMU there I would say. The Phantom should cut off motors if inverted.
2017-1-21
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

StephenGSY Posted at 2017-1-21 18:12
Some serious issue with IMU there I would say. The Phantom should cut off motors if inverted.

There is nothing to stop the motors if the Phantom is upside down.
2017-1-21
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Your flight data is in a .txt file that the app records.
You can see the flight data by going to http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/Upload/
Follow the instructions to upload your flight record from the phone/tablet.

There is another, more detailed recording of flight data in a .dat file inside the Phantom which can be extracted by connecting the Phantom to a computer with a cable.