Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans2d43ce12
lvl.2
Flight distance : 194633 ft
  • >>>
Canada

Newbie here.
I just received my Phantom 3 Advanced to day.  I charged the battery and once completed, I tried to turn on.  The quad turned on, beeped, gimbal twitched then smoke came out.  The smoke came out from the SD card location.  Gimbal guard was removed prior to turning on.

Has this happened to anybody?  What could be the cause?
Any insight?
This unit was purchased refurbished.
2017-3-8
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

Send it back, something in the video processor is fried.
2017-3-8
Use props
DJI Natalia
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft

Sorry to hear that, please send it in, we'll evaluate it for you.
You can contact our tech support here: http://www.dji.com/support/product
2017-3-8
Use props
fans2d43ce12
lvl.2
  • >>>
Canada

I just received the RMA number.  Will send it back shortly today.  

Could this be the battery as well?
The RMA instructions said no battery.  Just want to make sure it's not it.  Don't want to fry the quad once repaired.  
2017-3-9
Use props
fans2d43ce12
lvl.2
  • >>>
Canada

I also noticed this while I was looking at the Phantom Advanced.  The unit I bought is Advanced and the badge is Standard.  
IMG_1251.JPG
2017-3-9
Use props
fans2d43ce12
lvl.2
  • >>>
Canada

Let me rotate that.  
IMG_1251.JPG
2017-3-9
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

It appears that you received a Phantom 3 Standard, which was shipped in a Phantom 3 Advanced shipping box. I doubt the Standard sticker was placed on an Advanced model by mistake.

Either way, if it's smoking, it needs to be sent back, for replacement. Did you try to get any info through the flight LOG  at www.phantomhelp.com yet?
www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/Upload

RedHotPoker
2017-3-9
Use props
Palladous
lvl.3
Flight distance : 102185 ft
United States