Drone Rookie
1378 23 2017-3-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ice Viper
lvl.1
United States

I just received my new P3S via UPS today and I'm just finishing charging the spare battery. Excited to get out flying, but we're expecting a little snow tonight so it might not happen until Friday. I'm going to try getting everything connected tonight yet. I already purchased the Litchi app, but I believe you have to start with the GO App first...correct? I know most of these questions have been answered many times, but I'm REALLY new to this and I don't want to screw it up.

Another question I have is...would you start flying in the GO app? It seems like the Litchi app is also fairly user friendly, but I'm looking for the best way to get started. ANY other suggestions would be greatly appreciated as well. Thanks!!!  

2017-3-29
Use props
Maxi3D
Second Officer
Flight distance : 307621 ft
  • >>>
United States

Try learn to fly first. Baby steps, fly the sims and/or toy copter before you go off to the deep end.
2017-3-29
Use props
microlinux
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2576972 ft
  • >>>
United States

I would start with Go - just about any guide/information you find on the Internet is going to be geared towards that.

You generally have have to work pretty hard to crash these things, short of negligence or hardware failure. Start in an open area on a calm day (< 10 MPH wind), I think you'll be surprised at how easy it is to fly if you have calibrated everything and have a solid GPS lock. My 10 year old nephew can do it, so can you.

Make sure you get a good IMU calibration first. Use a level on the tops of the prop shafts to make sure the Drone is as close to level as possible prior. Use folded up sheets of paper or something similar to level it out. The table, floor, etc you think is level, is probably not. Then calibrate the gimbal. Once you're out in the field, calibrate the compass and prepare for your new addiction . . .
2017-3-29
Use props
Kneepuck