383 4 2023-6-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
HD Pilot
lvl.4
Flight distance : 5242231 ft
  • >>>
United States

This pertains primarily to US PART 107 Remote Pilots.   

Last night, I was at a local “Small” Non-Towered airport giving a demonstration of the Matrice 30T RTK.  

I was given permission by the Airport Manager to fly the drone.  

I am a PART 61 pilot for SEL, LTA, and Gliders, and for over 30 years now.   

While flying the drone near the hanger I was doing the demonstration and at an altitude of 119’AGL, the drone warned me of an approaching aircraft, which is proof that the DJI AIRSENSE works.   

I had the drone descend to 50’ AGL and stayed clear while a glider crossed mid-field and entered the pattern. I was asked to video the gliders pattern and landing. After the glider entered the downwind leg, base and final. I moved the drone closer, but clear of the runway so not to interfere and avoid an incurstion, and climbed to 119’AGL to look toward the downwind pattern, which also gave me a clear view of the gliders landing.   

After the glider landed and made a complete stop, I lowered the drone and moved closer to the intersection. I took some photos while the pilot secured his glider.   

The drone had its lights and strobes during the entire flight for visibility, and I made it a point to stay clear until after he landed and remained a clear distance of 50 away from him and behind the hold line.

I turned the drone toward the hanger to return to land.  

While in the process, the pilot of the glider stormed over to where we were standing (about 300 feet from where he left his glider), and walked straight to my face (two feet) and began yelling at me.