Am i normal
661 9 2017-7-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
coco60
lvl.4
Flight distance : 632096 ft
Canada

Hi. I am new to DJI forum. I have been flying my P4P for three weeks now and I'am still afraid to fly further than 1000 feet from me. I'am afraid that if i cant see the drone it will go down or somthing will hapened. But i know it can go almost 4.5 miles away acording to the specs. Doctor am i normal ?
2017-7-7
Use props
Cetacean
Captain
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States

Aloha coco,

Not only are you normal, but you are probably legal to!  You are noting the common sense basis of most of the national flight rules in place around the world (not all of them unfortunately, but most).

We need safety first.  Soon drones of the commercial and personal type (as opposed to military) will far outnumber all other aircraft (manned) in the world.  

However, you can still fly safely beyond your visual range by using a visual observer as allowed in the FAA Part 107 rules.  Eventually sense and detect systems will allow a Pilot in Command to fly without a VO by using high resolution sensors and video, possibly even an IFF (Identify Friend or Foe) variant transponder.  But, it will all be done in the interest of safety when it is demonstrated to be effective.

You are on the right track.  Now get out there and have fun!  Fly safe.

Aloha and Drone On!
2017-7-7
Use props
Eric13
Second Officer
Flight distance : 13982031 ft
  • >>>
Germany

HaHa, yes, you are probably normal.

The law/rule requiring VLOS definitely makes sense but when I read here and anywhere else it seems most don't stick to it.
The VLOS rule requires not only to see the AC but being able to recognize the attitude.

Without looking at my monitor, with AC being further than 150ft horizontal distance, I can't tell which way the AC is facing.
Too bad the phantom is like a square. I'm looking for some skin/color solution which makes it obvious in the distance.
2017-7-7
Use props