Flying my spark in the US of A
3629 20 2017-8-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Freakuk
lvl.1
Flight distance : 26699 ft
United Kingdom

I specifically bought my Spark for my upcoming holiday, I'm a keen photographer and GoPro user so I thought I would buy a drone to capture other view points from my holiday. I'll be travelling from Seattle - Oregon - Mt Hood - San Francisco - Ojai - LA - Vegas so I wanted to know if it's possible to fly at any of these locations?

I've registered my drone with the US FAA and wondered what else I need to do?

Thanks
2017-8-29
Use props
Goatherdervt
lvl.2
Flight distance : 386178 ft
United States

Pack some sunscreen and enjoy the visit!

US drone rules are pretty straight forward.

Can't fly above 400 feet (121m)  

Can't fly over stadiums or large groups of people.

Must be able to see the drone with eyes (line of sight).

The drones software and gps signal won't let you fly into NFZ areas either so I think that is about it.

Have a great trip.
2017-8-29
Use props
DJI Elektra
DJI team
Hong Kong

You can get more information in FLY SAFE. Here is the reference: http://www.dji.com/flysafe/no-fly. Thanks for supporting.
2017-8-29
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 2560453 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

I am sure looking forward to the footage from that trip
(if you are planning to share)
2017-8-29
Use props
TranceMist
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1661591 ft
United States

Many of the places you mention have both National Parks and National Forests.

It is important to understand where you are while operating the drone, because different regulations apply.

National Parks prohibit "Launching, landing, or operating an unmanned aircraft from or on lands and waters administered by the National Park Service".
https://www.nps.gov/articles/unm ... -national-parks.htm
https://www.nps.gov/policy/PolMemos/PM_14-05.htm (See item #1 under REQUIRED ACTIONS)