Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
pmshop
First Officer
Flight distance : 8073271 ft
  • >>>
United States

Hi all,

New Spark owner As of Oct 1 - but I have been flying for a couple of years and have built four of my own craft.

GPS fix should be rather quick and if you can read up to 10 sats and  still not have a recorded home something is wrong with the unit?

I can take up to 10% battery power waiting for just 8 sats.
This condition is everywhere.
This morning I flew in the open skies, 15% cloud cover and the craft recorded home position 9 minutes into the flight.
So it cannot be ground interference.

Also to note, If I feel it is taking too long and I move it, sat count drops to 0 and the process starts all over again.

My setup is the fly more package so I am using the controller, iPhone with reverse use OTG cable connection.

Here are the last 3 logs I have recorded:

DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

Any help is appreciated.

2017-10-6
Use props
Anuvis
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1976736 ft
Greece

Do you use UAV forecast app?some times depends on your location the GPS sat lock can be 10 Satelites and even 9
2017-10-6
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 10017858 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

You need minimum 6 sats to fly with gps , so if you break it down. 6 gps 6 glonass, so 11/12 sats guarantees good satellite signal,
If you only have 10 you may have 5 gps 5 glonass not enough for flying , yes sometimes you may have 9 6 gps and 3 glonass and you can fly with enough signal, the thing you really need to be looking at is bar graph beside where you see numbers of sats you really need 3 bars to fly safe with signal lock.

Your signal showing so little sats could be the area your flying in, this can be easily solved by moving to a totally different area and try again.
If this shows the same results then you could very well have a problem with your GPS receiver, and may have to return to dji to get it checked.
2017-10-6
Use props
pmshop