Do you need ND filters?
5539 28 2018-1-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MavicMan101
lvl.4
United States

I've seen some people say that ND filters preserve the colors better for post production, and make make the image better exposed. Other people, in this video for example, say that the only thing it does is reduce the shutter speed for a more "cinematic" look. I'm only a hobbyist, but obviously, I want my footage to look as good as possible. So basically my questions are: What do they really do, and do I really need them?
2018-1-28
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 13926112 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

ND stands for neutral density - if your ND filters affect colour grades in your footage they are not fit for purpose. Polarised filters may make the blues pop more in the image but standard shutter ND’s should remain totally neutral to the colouration. They are designed to reduce the shutter speed to create smoother images in brighter conditions without over exposure. Ultimately, to create the 180 degree rule for that cinematic feel when recording moving objects by enhancing motion blur. The Mavic series have fixed apertures so quite essential if you want that motion blur effect.
2018-1-28
Use props
MavicMan101
lvl.4
United States

A CW Posted at 2018-1-28 16:27
ND stands for neutral density - if your ND filters affect colour grades in your footage they are not fit for purpose. Polarised filters may make the blues pop more in the image but standard shutter ND’s should remain totally neutral to the colouration. They are designed to reduce the shutter speed to create smoother images in brighter conditions without over exposure. Ultimately, to create the 180 degree rule for that cinematic feel when recording moving objects by enhancing motion blur. The Mavic series have fixed apertures so quite essential if you want that motion blur effect.

Is motion blur the only thing ND filters do?
2018-1-28
Use props
A CW
Captain
  • >>>
United Kingdom