Getting to Know your Aircraft
471 0 2018-2-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MavicMan5
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1398950 ft
United States

My appologies if this is redundant information, I just wanted to share a few things I've discovered in the short time I've owned my Mavic.

I received a private pilot's licence several years ago. Pilots are put through various life saving exercises in the event of situations such as loss of fuel or an engine out. To me it's just as important as a drone pilot. After a few insidents I experienced as a new drone pilot, I decided to put myself through these maneuvers in the event of any real life situation such as described below.

For starters, I have found it necessary during RTH flights, especially during situations involving low light, to press the red X on your viewing device during the return to home maneuver (which then displays the "YES or NO" option). I do this well before it begins its landing sequence. I've experienced, on at lease three occasions, where my MPP would have landed in the wrong LZ; two of which were on top of my house :-(

Having the "Yes" option at the ready during a decent, as opposed to the X, leaves only one touch of the screen to halt the RTH sequence, thus avoiding a major catastrophe (learned the hard way). The drone simply stops at the altitude its at when the "YES" is pressed, giving the PIC total control of the landing.

I fly mostly with Dji Goggles for the immersion experience, and with the HUD its easier to keep up with signal strength, battery life, distance from home, etc. without having to look down at your viewing device, thus taking your "eyes off your drone", so I rarely use RTH.