Mavic Air Fail during Boomerang QuickShot Mode
4101 10 2018-2-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
CHSDrone1
lvl.2
United States

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie drone pilot - just took delivery of my Mavic Air on Monday.  So far the drone has functioned and handled like a dream - super easy to take photos & videos.  However today something interesting happened.  I was testing out the different quick shot modes in a public park and the Mavic Air handled the dronie shot perfectly ... but then when I selected Boomerang the drone moved laterally and crashed into a tree.  Luckily the drone escaped with zero damage - either to the propellers or to the drone itself ... in fact the drone kept flying like a champ.  But ... the big question I have for everyone is shouldn't the drone have detected the tree? Thanks!
2018-2-14
Use props
DJI Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft

Hi CHSDrone1. We're sorry to hear of the incident. Glad to hear that the drone is okay. The Mavic Air has sensors in the front, back, and bottom. Please make sure to fly in an area free of obstacles that may hit the drone from the sides when using Quickshot modes.
2018-2-14
Use props
RichInGa
lvl.4
Flight distance : 449344 ft
United States

I think the obstacle detection is great, but don't rely upon it.  If I see the drone headed for disaster -- I'll hit the pause button and the drone will stop. One of the things I like to tell new pilots is to get a cheap drone and practice with that whenever you get a chance.  I have a Mavic Air, 2 3DR Solos, Hubsan 501c -- but I probably have flown the most out of my $20 mini whoop.  I'll practice smooth turns, manual orbits, transitions from forward flight to flying sideways (while still going in the same direction)  Inverse orbits,  Helix -- all in my living room during a commercial break.
2018-2-14
Use props
Bigplumbs
First Officer
Flight distance : 620164 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Man