new member looking to join Spark family
732 18 2018-2-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
sjed
lvl.2

United States

Hi all. I'm new to the droning world and have been looking at all the youtube videos to narrow down my choice of drone. I'm really being drawn to the Spark because of size and camera. As I said, I've watched a ton of videos and the very last one mentioned that people have problems with birds attacking the Spark because of it's size. I've never heard this from any of the previous youtube reviews but it has me concerned as I live in a suburban area with lots of sparrows, starlings and occasional blackbirds. I figure I'll come to the group that flies them and ask, is this a real problem with the Spark as I don't really wish to harm birds or lose an expensive drone, for that matter.
2018-2-25
Use props
Gunship9
Second Officer
United States

Birds attacking radio control aircraft is a problem regardless of the aircraft.  It is something all pilots have to watch for and be prepared to take evasive action or abort the flight.  I have had a huge vulture appear out of no where and fly two feet (one foot?, very close) over the Spark while craning its neck checking the Spark out.  I have had hawks ignore it and just orbit in the area.  Martins chase my model airplane all over the sky so I have to do loops and split-S' to loose them.

The secret to flying anything that isn't an airliner or a fighter jet, is knowing when and where you can't fly.  There are a lot of times a drone, or a cessna, just shouldn't fly.
2018-2-25
Use props
drewhoover
lvl.4
Flight distance : 323455 ft
United States

1. A bird has never attacked my drone, and I never think that would happen. The Spark would win the fight, I have $10 on that.
2. Spark is the way to go, if you are looking for a nice lower level consumer drone. But if you are looking for better features, such as camera quality and hardware, I would go a level up to the Mavic Air.