My PV2 Plus went for a swim today.
2468 14 2014-10-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MICAHKITER
lvl.1

Australia

NOT HAPPY..... My PV2 Plus went for a swim today.
Today started well exhausted one battery flying around taking some photos of a friends house.
Everything worked as it should and we got some great photos.
We live on a canal system so we took Grahams boat out in the middle of the lake.
I launched from the deck of the boat without a problem, I had 10 satellites and 100% battery.
Then two minutes into the flight my PV2 Plus became non-responsive and started to what look like a controlled descent.
Unfortunately a quad was 50 m away and only 10 m altitude.
We manoeuvred the boat as quickly as we could to save my P2V Plus from hitting the water.
I jumped into the water just as it hit the surface it quickly sank, I managed to just grab it before it sank in 10 m of water.
I am not a newbie I have been flying RC aircraft for over 20 years and have had phantom first-generation, Phantom Vision and phantom vision 2 plus.
I look after and service my gear religiously.
It just frustrates me so much that I have lost my P2Vplus because of system failure.
I removed the battery instantly raced home pulled her apart and used an air compressor to blow her dry.
My PV2 Plus is currently in a sealed bag of raw rice, hoping to draw moisture away from the circuitry.
I was going to go to my local electronic shop and buy some circuit board cleaner ,do you guys think this would help ?
Or am I wasting my time as she landed in saltwater.
Advice would be much appreciated
Micah

2014-10-31
Use props
swomilan
lvl.4

Mexico

did you wash it with fresh water first to get rid of Salt residue?
Make sure to put the battery somewhere where it cannot cause any fire, just a safety precaution.

2014-10-31
Use props
mixstreme
lvl.3

United Kingdom

Salt water, Expect the worst.....
Quick intervention is very important in salvage, and that's really what this is now...