Flying over cliffs
1924 15 2018-5-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
THE ROAD RIDER
lvl.1
Portugal

Hello friends.

I am new to the drone world. I just bought my Mavic Air a few days ago and so far so awesome. I am trying to take it slow and practice low flights so i can get used to everything. With that said i been thinking about trying to fly it over some cliffs in my hometown. What i am thinking of doing is simple movements, straight lines. My question is if the Mavic air is stable enough for these kinds of flights over cliffs?

Here is a video, not from me but from the place i want to do the footage.

Best regards and i hope to start contributing in this community.

2018-5-8
Use props
GDL
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2768694 ft
Singapore

Air is very stable. What you need to be aware is safety when flying low. You should fly close and control the aircraft by looking on it not the screen to ensure it won’t hit something. Be careful for the wind and don’t fly too low above water. Do more exercise on safe open area first. Only go to the challenge place when you feel confidence. Ensure you have save open area for takeoff and landing. Confirm home point recorded before takeoff.
Fly safe and have fun with filming.
2018-5-8
Use props
Lstumpf3
lvl.2

Canada

The view is so great! Hope you'd capture more of this exciting sceneries
2018-5-8
Use props
rent
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1773458 ft
  • >>>
United States

Watch out for gusty wind especially when you fly close to the cliffs.
2018-5-8
Use props
Mars5150
lvl.4
Flight distance : 391493 ft
United States

Hi Road Rider,
it seems your already flying over some cliffs... On your video posted. I love that place (need some help & info about, sent you a message).
I had the same worry, but after some flights and a flyover of a Normandie Coast with avery Windy day, I understood how much this drones can handle also quite strong winds.
Check it out. From 0 to sec. 30, it was very windy.