685 1 2018-6-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
AlphaFlightNW
Second Officer
Flight distance : 784265 ft
  • >>>
United States

I am a new aerial photographer, having not really having any expeience prior to getting my first Spark and Mavic Air. Heres what I have learned.

Okay, this is a cliche, but its true. Find some scenic areas near you, get every detail about the area, such as airspace restrictions and laws. I am fortunate enough to live near so many forests which I thought I could fly at, only to find that the land is a state park which meant I needed to contact the appropriate people to then fly in these areas. If its ok to go, take your drone with you and scout out every detail, such as weather conditions, nearby obstructions, people, wildlife and, most importantly, wifi interference. If everything looks good to go, the next step is

Pre Flight Checks

With both of my drones, I always look for a good spot launch from. If you can, handlaunching/landing is an invaluable skill to learn. Not all enviornments are safe for drones, including wet ground, uneven ground, sand, metal and other hazards. This will save you from heartbreak, as I have several times almost had happen. With your landing zone secured, be sure to check your props, ensure your battery is adequatly charged and fastened, remove any gimbal guards and clean the lens. A few minutes checking your hardware ensures your safety as well as your drones. Turn on your controller and aircraft, checking the wifi, gps and sensors. Move your aircraft to find the best gps signal if you are not getting adequate signal. Once your signal is secured, all lights are green and you are ready, you get to

Takeoff, and flight tips