582 7 2018-6-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Arnie R
lvl.4
Flight distance : 80958 ft
United States

Hello all.

I am a very new purchaser of the Spark Drone Combo kit and have a few basic questions.

I have searched to best of my limited abilities and seem more confused now than before.

A few answers or link references would be greatly appreciated.

I have only conducted a few test flights to judge battery times and flight characteristics, so I am a rookie.

Question 1 - Does an OTG cable actually produce any significant improvements when attached to the iphone and remote? If, so what are they? I received some video hesitation on my iphone during my test flights when a couple hundred feet away.

Question 2 - Do the current US regs on drone use limit the altitude to 120 meters (393 feet) or is that just near any airport or restricted areas? Not that I could go any higher because I couldn't see the drone at its max altitude anyway.

Thanks for allowing me to bore you. I am certain I will have more questions as time goes on.

Arnie R
2018-6-30
Use props
KurtVD
lvl.4
Flight distance : 365299 ft
Philippines

1) yes, connecting your iPhone to the RC via cable will provide a much better experience, eg a more stable connection and a better range, since the RC will only have to maintain a WiFi connection to the aircraft, and not two WiFi networks simultaneously. For best results, choose a channel from the 2.4 GHz network manually (carefull to select one that isn’t too busy, there’s a graph in the WiFi settings of the app that shows the state of all the channels)
2) I’m not 100% sure about US regs, but I’m quite sure the altitude limit is everywhere, just like in EU countries. It’s to avoid incursions into airspace where manned aircraft fly, which would be extremely dangerous.
2018-6-30
Use props
Arnie R
lvl.4
United States

KurtVD Posted at 2018-6-30 18:18