Curious about flying locations and general public perception
764 10 2018-7-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
308Shooter
lvl.3
United States

Hello all...

I posted this in the photo section by mistake under a different title...
Im just curious as to everyone's thoughts.  I'm new to the drone game and have read alot of the FAA, AMA and general do's and don'ts.

They basically amount to common sense,  but always state don't fly over personal property,  crowds,  people,  etc.   

I see ALOT of amazing pictures and videos on here.   Videos/images I aspire to achieve.  However,  alot of what I see are videos on the beach (over crowds),  cities (over crowds)flying over neighborhoods or tourist locations(private property and crowds).

Most people I know are freaked out over the idea of the drone... They think it's for spying.

Is everyone throwing caution to the wind in all the videos I'm seeing or am I just hyper-sensitive since I'm new to all this.

Thoughts and comments welcome.

2018-7-1
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 13926112 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

In the UK we are allowed to fly over buildings and people as long as it is not classified as 'congested' and the drone is at least 50m / 165' AGL. Some pilots on here are also qualified to fly for commercial operations and may have obtained permission from their aviation authority. Be sure to know the back ground of the pilot before judging the images - they may very well be completely legal.
As for public perception - I don't care. Drones are legal here. I bought it from Apple and paid my taxes on it. I fly in line with the regulations set by my national aviation authority and after nearly 1,000 flights I have been asked to land just once and that was my own stupid fault on my very first flight with a P3P back in 2016. Know the regulations, fly safe and ignore the haters. Though in the majoity of cases I receive far more compliments and interest when flying than anything else.
2018-7-1
Use props