PolarPro Filters - Ruining Image Clarity?
626 7 2018-8-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Alan James
lvl.2
Flight distance : 146821 ft

I got a set of PolarPro filters for my Phantom 4  pro a while back and noticed right away that they made the video’s and photos look worse - they just seemed to crush the image clarity.  They just made everything look out of focus and less crisp.  For example leaves and grass just wasn’t as sharp, and everything looked more muddy.  (Sorry I don’t have access to my test images to share atm.)   I chaulked it up to “somethings wrong with these filters specifically” and just never used them.  I know everyone else around the web seems to swear by them, and as a former photographer I absolutely understand the usefulness of ND and polarizer filters.  

So I got a set for my Mavic to take with me to Iceland, and I seem to be noticing the same thing now on the Mavic - clarity just goes to crap with the filters on.  It seems unlikely that I’m getting “bad copies” with poor glass, so is it just me?  Or is everyone drinking the cool aid when it comes to these filters...

...actually now that I think of it, if there’s a layer of protective plastic over them, THAT would be exactly what I’m describing.  However it did not seem there was?

Thanks for any reply!
2018-8-25
Use props
gnirtS
First Officer
Flight distance : 5712575 ft
United Kingdom

What do you mean by less crisp ?  Got any samples?

Are we talking stills (where you shouldnt use them at all except a PL maybe) or video?

What sort of ISO and shutterspeeds are being used on these images?

If its video, what are your settings for sharpening and so on?
2018-8-26
Use props
DJI Gamora
Administrator

Hi, thanks for reaching DJI Forum. We do apologize for the troubles. Please refer to the link below. Thank you.

https://forum.dji.com/thread-98285-1-1.html
2018-8-26
Use props
Alan James
lvl.2