Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Spark doesn't RTH, takes off straight up!
843 7 2018-8-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_ymblDMrfjTKN
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3848497 ft
United States

This is my first time flying this drone and I hit the RTH button in the app & swiped to approve and the Spark took off straight up at a high rate of speed into an oak tree and crashed into an azalea bush!
A few minutes later, after a battery change. I was flying in an open area and got a low battery warning, hit the RTH button on my phone, swiped to approve and it took off straight up, I canceled the RTH and landed the drone manually. I had just set up & updated the firmware. So there's obviously a problem with the firmware.
I'll no longer use that feature until I get new firmware.
Please help!
2018-8-26
Use props
pmshop
Second Officer
Flight distance : 8073271 ft
  • >>>

The Spark is functioning as designed.

RTH is not recommended under trees.

RTH will make the spark reach a default altitude of 100ft (30m) and then return home.
This is to try to clear any other obstacles on the way back.
IE you are flying through the street over one block and you need to RTH.
It will raise up...missing the houses and trees (if shorter than 100ft) and return home.

RTH can be customized to an altitude you desire but I would not go below 100ft.
2018-8-26
Use props
Prairie Chicken
lvl.4
Flight distance : 106526 ft
Canada

If you read the manual...ahem...you'd know that on RTH, Spark takes off straight up to a preset altitude (default is 30 metres) before coming home. Your Spark did exactly as it was supposed to do.
2018-8-26
Use props
DJI Tony
Administrator