12Next >
1966 45 2018-10-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
White Heron
lvl.1
Flight distance : 17116 ft
United States

I've been flying my spark for about 4 months.  This was the first time I ventured beyond my own neighborhood to a nearby state park to fly.  I was flying with the RC connected to my iPad mini via cable.  

Just after 2 minutes into the flight I got an error message, it went by fast, but I think it said compass calibration error.  I lost contact and watched the drone fly off in the other direction beyond the trees and out of sight.  I pushed the throttle up so that in case it was reading any signal it would avoid the trees ahead of it.

I chased after it, and luckily when I got closer the RC apparently regained connection.  I could hear it but I couldn't see it.  Followed the sound of the drone and looked up and there it was hovering above the trees.

My theory is that the drone got caught in a wind gust and lost it's direction. Then it took off.  It flew in the opposite direction of the home point.
The ground windspeed had gusts up to 10mph, a speed which didn't seem prohibitive at the time, but I don't think I will fly in again.  

Any ideas, input on what happened and why?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/P3h8HiC0iJY" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

2018-10-13
Use props
White Heron
lvl.1
United States

2018-10-13
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5922034 ft
  • >>>
Thailand

Have you been/ did you just switch in sport, as it happened?
In the video it is either in sport or in Atti (which is kind of a sport mode, too)

Replay the flight record in the app
"it went by fast, but I think it said compass calibration error"

If it said "compass ...", it went to Atti mode, which is in the air above 5m a "drift with the wind" mode.