Inspire 1 still a good choice?
3734 10 2019-1-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
timdelma
lvl.2
Belgium

I have the opportunity to buy a second hand Inspire 1 with the standard Zenmuse X3 + 3 batteries for less then 800 euro (little over 900 dollar). Drone is totally revised and works still good.
As a photographer I would like to use the Inspire to ake pictures and also to make video's.
Is the Inspire 1 in 2019 still a valid option for a photographer?
2019-1-15
Use props
Kevin Halle
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1297612 ft
  • >>>
United States

I think it's a great choice personally. I have the X5 with mine and takes great pictures and video.
2019-1-16
Use props
JBSonic
Second Officer
Flight distance : 779019 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I think the problem with the Inspire 1 is that if you dont go for the RAW version, you are basically wasting your money on a expensive large drone for no advantage what so ever.
The normal Inspire 1, even with the X5 camera, only shoots at a maximum of about 65mb/s bitrate. That is the same as the Phantom 3 I believe, or Mavic Pro.
The Phantom 4 Pro already shoots at 100mb/s bitrate.
If you use the RAW version then of course you have a big difference in quality that justifies the investment, but for the normal version not really.

IF you go with larger drones like the Inspire, you have to consider that it is in every way inferior to the Phantom or Mavic series. It is much larger, difficult to transport, more complicated (more can fail), obviously more expensive, harder to use etc.

You wouldnt want all those negatives without getting a great image from it in the end. So either go RAW Inspire 1 (or 2) or stick with Phantom 4 / Mavic series
2019-1-16
Use props
timdelma
lvl.2
Belgium

JBSonic Posted at 1-16 04:38
I think the problem with the Inspire 1 is that if you dont go for the RAW version, you are basically wasting your money on a expensive large drone for no advantage what so ever.