Cannot takeoff in a no-fly zone
4075 11 2019-4-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans28c57d79
lvl.2
  • >>>
United States

The Vero Beach Regional Airport (VRB) will let me fly but DJI won't. I have a paid shoot coming up and I'm grounded. "Yeah, I'm an FAA certified sUAS pilot, but I can't fly my drone. Sorry about that."

This is beyond unacceptable.

My next drone hopefully will not be a DJI. Now I have to find an alternative app and learn to use it in just a few days. Wish me luck!

Ian Rosaaen
Vero Beach, Florida, USA

2019-4-10
Use props
patiam
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 1118740 ft
  • >>>
United States

@Ian Rosaaen - I feel your pain. There are several threads where Part 107 certificated pilots and other professionals are expressing their displeasure with DJI's NFZs and GeoFencing.
2019-4-10
Use props
Mark The Droner
First Officer
Flight distance : 2917 ft
United States

An alternative app won't change anything regarding the geo maps.  The geo data is already loaded into your AC.

I don't see any DJI restrictions at VRB other than the normal routine self-authorization zones which have been around for years.

https://www.dji.com/flysafe/geo-map

https://www.dji.com/flysafe/self-unlock

Is there a hidden restricted area on the runway which isn't showing up on the geomap ...?  Or are you confused about how to self authorize?  

Good luck

2019-4-10
Use props
DJI Tony
Administrator