Inspire 2 Active Track Crash
2308 11 2019-9-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans63d7dbc8
lvl.1
Flight distance : 437730 ft

Hey all,

First post here. I just wanted to share my story/experience with my Inspire 2 today.

I have some background operating DJI drones, I've owned a Phantom 3 4K, and currently own a Phantom 4 Pro and a now mangled Inspire 2. My dad has an Inspire 1 and a Matrice 210. I have a good amount of exposure to how these things work, and have had nothing but a great experience with them up to this point.

Today I wanted to test the Active Tracking feature on my Inspire 2, and see how well it would follow my dirt bike. I had no plans of going fast or doing anything wild, just wanted to see how well the feature worked on this drone. Since I've purchased, all firmware has been updated and test flights previous to today made me pretty confident letting this thing fly by itself in a pretty open environment.

I get the Inspire flight ready, take off, do a little round about to make sure everything feels good and brought it back near home point. Confident the drone was ready to go, I hopped on my YZ450 (it had been warming up, blowing the cob webs out of the exhaust) and putted ever so slowly through the dirt in the roping arena at my house. In first gear going about ~5 mph, eyes on the drone the whole time (I had my brother watching the remote for me). While the drone indeed followed me, it began making very aggresive movements, radically moving back and forth (this can be seen in the flight record video below).