Flying at night - do the sensors get confused?
7459 10 2019-12-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Goofy Pilot
lvl.1
United States

Hello ,

The Mavic Mini is the first drone I have ever purchased. So, Im new in the drone hooby.
The other night, I got the idea to fly at night to take video of the Christmas lights at my house.

So, I when outside and as soon as I tooke off, I got error message for the IMU. I quickly landed it. I tried it again and the drone was crazy. Drifiting, not hoovering and all the sudden it it flew itself into the outside wall of my house at full speed. Gladly, i was flying like 5 ft from the ground and nothing happen.

Has anybody experienced this while flying at night? What do you think what the cause of the drones behavior? Does the sensor work at night in the dark?

Any tips?

Thanks

2019-12-8
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello and good day Goofy Pilot. Thank you for reaching out and for the inquiry. Hope that you'll get the best recommendation in regards on flying at night. However, we would like to inform you that the sensors of the drone may not work properly if there would be not enough light while flying. Thank you for understanding and always have a safe flight.
2019-12-8
Use props
SD_Pilot
Captain
Flight distance : 10278435 ft
  • >>>
United States

Any tips?

As a new drone owner, avoid flying at night with poor lighting. Don't fly at night and you'll save yourself a headache from the drone behaving erratically due to poor conditions.  
2019-12-8
Use props
KlooGee
First Officer
Flight distance : 16783757 ft
  • >>>
United States

Sorry to hear of your experience.  

It sounds to me like maybe you didn't wait for the GPS sats to get locked in with a good signal before your launched.

Drones like the Mavic Mini have 2 ways of being able to stabilize themselves.  The first is GPS and the second is the down facing visual sensing system.