MM, MP2 Zoom Interference, Electric Wheelchair, New User
788 6 2020-9-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JimmyPickles
lvl.2
Flight distance : 40889 ft
United States

Hi All, this post is a culmination of a couple random, poorly tittled posts.  I'm frustrated and looking for ideas.

I have a MM which I have been flying for a few months and a MP2 Zoom which I just started flying.  I'm having issues with interference with both drones and I have no doubt that it is user error.

A little information about my unique situation.  I fly my drones from an electric wheelchair (diving accident since 1981).  This brings in some obstacles to deal with:
  • I'm flying from a sitting position
  • I'm sitting in a 24volt high powered chair with large brushed motors.  While I'm not blaming the interference on my chair it can't be discounted, I have been told for years that the electronics do not interfere with radio control transmissions.  In many cases I have proved manufactures wrong.  as you all know, electronics can be very "glitchy".
  • The muscles in my hands don't work. to get around this I wear a stainless steel hand brace that allows me to grasp small items such as remote control sticks.  While mostly stainless, it also contains some aluminum and magnetic steel.  My point of bringing this up is that the brace is very close to the controller's antennas.

To make things more complicated, I live in an area where I'm flying over water in almost every direction.  This makes RTH terrifying.  Given all this iformation I'm just simply trying to best reduce the risk of losing my drones in the water.

Mavic Mini - She's been good to me.  That said I can get interference errors 300 feet out (with nothing between me and the drone) or 1,000 feet.  Once in a while I get gutsy and push through the error and everything is ok.  other times I can't.