Phantom 4 Crash
951 11 2020-9-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Moultrip
lvl.1

United States

I am an experienced drone Pilot & hold an FAA commercial drone license.  Two years ago, after a difficult pitch, I convinced my new employer to invest in its first drone, the DJI Phantom IV Pro+, for use in it's operations.
This week, I was using the drone (in 'P' mode) to take aerial shots of real estate (buildings).  Ideal conditions, clear with no cloud cover, minimal wind.  After a battery low warning, I landed the drone and inserted a fresh battery.

I started the drone back up as usual.  However, when it got to only 15-20 feet height, it strangely gave me the audible "you have reached maximum altitude".  Really bazaar, having never occurred at this height.  I spent a few moments repeatedly trying to get it higher (by landing & re-launching), but continually got the audible.

Then, without any prompting, the drone (while at the 'maximum' height of 15-20 ft) suddenly shot off to my left at full speed, where about 2 blocks it crashed into a concrete building under construction.  I was awestruck and shocked, as I watched our expensive investment headed to a fatal crash out of my control.

I am sure my employer will place the blame on me.  It is also unlikely I will be able to convince them to re-invest in another drone.

I would think that DJI would want to know about this.  Does anyone know . . .

• Does DJI offer any type of forensics or assistance in documenting the cause (malfunction, hacking, etc.)?
  • Will DJI work with me in seeking a remedy?

Thank you!

2020-9-11
Use props
ALABAMA
First Officer
Flight distance : 10442687 ft
United States

Post the flight log and somebody will tell you exactly what went wrong.
2020-9-11
Use props
Moultrip
lvl.1

United States

ALABAMA Posted at 9-11 15:35
Post the flight log and somebody will tell you exactly what went wrong.