Mavic Air 2 - Huge noise in D-Cinelike (test included)
1233 9 2020-11-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JumperX
lvl.1
Flight distance : 2046765 ft
  • >>>
Germany

Hello everybody,

I own a Mavic Air for a while now. I determined that this model has unbelievably much noise when using D-Cinelike color mode. This makes this 'pro' color mode almost unusable, although it is promoted as an advanced model of the Mavic lineup.

I'm a professional videographer and I did a test and I include it here: https://youtu.be/Vo_9ZjoH8e0 (Chinese with English subtitle).

If you own this model, could you share your experience? I'm eager to know if it's a single case or I did something wrong.

Much appreciated!
Thanks!
2020-11-11
Use props
tokyopete
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1955154 ft
United States

Your title says Mavic Air 2, but your post says Mavic Air. Which model are you discussing here?
2020-11-11
Use props
JumperX
lvl.1
  • >>>
Germany

Sorry, it's Air 2.
2020-11-11
Use props
JohnLietzke
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3125968 ft
United States

I noticed the Mavic Air 2 in general is loud when turned on.  I have never noticed increased noise when using D-Cinelike color mode.  D-Cinelike color mode is more than likely processor in tensive and therefore causes the internal fan to increase speed which may account for the extra noise.  

I equate the fan speeds and for video editing processes which are CPU & GPU taxing on a computer to what should be happening on the drone.  The fan should increase RPMs when the onboard processor is in higher usage in order to cool the hardware.  

The fan speed, i.e. noise, definitely seems disproportionate when the drone is at idle to what the hardware processing needs should be.  It makes a god awful amount of noise when I have had to plug turn on the Mavic Air 2 and plug it in to my computer.  The fan consumed battery very fast because of the fan speed at idle.  It consumed 30% of the battery in around 20 minutes.