Controller Wheel vs Manual Pan
1598 13 2020-11-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DaveSp
Second Officer
Flight distance : 6562 ft
United States

Relative newbie here. I'm try to understand the value of using the Controller Wheel (or new controller for the Pocket 2) vs. just doing a manual pan when using the OP handheld. What does a controller do better than just moving the handheld device?
2020-11-11
Use props
Curt1591
First Officer
Thailand

For me, the wheel works well for vertical adjustments, especially when tilt locked. I still manually pan horizontally.

I fiddled with the new controller. Although it allows both horizontal and vertical panning, it doesn't work diagonally.
2020-11-11
Use props
Curt1591
First Officer
Thailand

duplicate........
2020-11-11
Use props
DaveSp
Second Officer
United States

Curt1591 Posted at 11-11 16:20
For me, the wheel works well for vertical adjustments. I still manually pan horizontally, especially when tilt locked.

I fiddled with the new controller. Although it allows both horizontal and vertical panning, it doesn't work diagonally.

Thanks for the reply. I find that in Follow mode, vertical pan works well and to me seems more natural than what might be achieved with with a thumbwheel or other controller. I've seen others describe the controller as a "must have" accessory and am trying to understand what I'm missing.
2020-11-11
Use props
Ray-CubeAce
Second Officer

United Kingdom

DaveSp Posted at 11-11 16:41
Thanks for the reply. I find that in Follow mode, vertical pan works well and to me seems more natural than what might be achieved with with a thumbwheel or other controller. I've seen others describe the controller as a "must have" accessory and am trying to understand what I'm missing.

I think some people get more control with a physical control over a touch screen.
2020-11-11
Use props
DaveSp
Second Officer
United States

Ray-CubeAce Posted at 11-11 16:56