1621 8 2020-12-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Wacko_66
lvl.3
Flight distance : 216778 ft
United Kingdom

Hi All,

New to the world of Quads, and this forum - HI!

Had the Mavic Air 2 for a month or so, and got the Smart Controller for Christmas. SC firmware updated itself to V01.00.0820 with no problems, and paired with the MA2 easily.

Yesterday, the SC (DJI Fly 1.1.6) told me the MA2 needed a firmware update, got as far as 99% and failed. No amount of retries were successful.

I have no experience with Android, so am scared to touch anything other than following prompts. Been iOS since iPhone 3G...

I reconnected the MA2 Controller, with DJI Fly 1.2.2 on my iPhone, which updated the MA2 to FW 01.00.0511 successfully.

Went back to the SC, and although it did connect OK to the MA2, it was showing its FW as N/A!

This morning, I was midway through writing this post to ask for advice, after reading everything I could on the Forum, fired up the SC to get version numbers, and it told me there was a Firmware update to V01.00.0860 available.

The installation failed a couple of times at 16% (not sure if this was because it was connected to the MA2, but seemed to resolve when I powered the Quad down).

The latest version seems to see the MA2 OK, and is reporting the correct MA2 Firmware version as 01.00.0511.

The DJI Fly app is now v1.2.2, so at least I don't have to terrify myself sideloading anything!

SO, what started out intended as a cry for help has been resolved, but I thought my experience might help someone else.

All the best,

AJ.
2020-12-29
Use props
JohnDG
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1097270 ft
Malaysia

The best way is to use the DJI Assistent on a pc to upgrade a device (drone or controller).

Stock at 16% is typical. Your controller felt asleep. You can set the sleep timer to a longer time or indefinit or touch from time to time the screen of the SC.