Custom built FPV drone interference.
1094 11 2021-3-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DroneNoob1975
lvl.1
United States

So after much hoop jumping and teeth nashing I was finally granted a custom unlock by DJI support to fly my new Mavic Mini drone at my local RC flying field.  There was a guy out there who was running a presumably self built FPV drone.  I got my Mavic in the air and almost immediately, the guy comes over telling me that my Mavic controller is interfereing with his setup.  I'm new to this game, so I don't know if this is even possible.

Can any of you guys help me out here?

Thanks,

CP
2021-3-7
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Highly unlikely you caused that.  Probably something with his DIY setup.
2021-3-8
Use props
DowntownRDB
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 1722 ft
  • >>>
United States

I seriously doubt your Remote controller caused him any interference issues.
2021-3-8
Use props
Flycaster
Second Officer
United States

Usually, the homebuilt fpv units tend to run the video on 2.4, are you running on that freq?
It could be blowing his vid feeds.
The only way to tell is when his kit is on, and happy, turn on your bits and see what happens...
2021-3-8
Use props
K6CCC
Second Officer
Flight distance : 651683 ft
United States

Depending on what frequencies he is using, it certainly is a possibility.  Back in the old days, it was normal for RC aircraft to interfere with each other, so careful frequency coordination was used - commonly different color flags on antennas.

Here is my opinion.  None of us want to crash our drones - or someone elses.  Complete cooperation with each other should be the name of the game.  It should not be a problem to stagger each other's flying so that there is not a problem.  May also be able to have one or the other flier to change frequencies so they don't interfere.
2021-3-8
Use props
DroneNoob1975
lvl.1
United States

Flycaster Posted at 3-8 07:40