Filmmaker request: 24 FPS
5890 25 2021-3-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
menithings
lvl.1
United States

I'm a filmmaker that's currently in post on my feature film and just got the DJI FPV to capture plates for a few VFX shots. Now I know there are other DJI drones with cameras better suited for film work, but I specifically bought the DJI because I need camera moves only achievable with an FPV. I know the camera isn't HDR, but I can work around that. However the fact that it can't record 24 fps is puzzling and frustrating, especially since the camera is apparently similar to the one used in the mini, which can do 4K 24fps.

As a workaround, I'm recording at 4K 50fps and then bringing the footage into After Effects as a 25 FPS timeline to strip out every second frame. Then I spit our a 25 fps image sequence that I use in my 24 fps VFX compsits - and then deal with the 1 frame per second time lag.

So a 24p option would be a huge benefit for me. I assume 4K footage would also take up less space and maybe even have less compression artifacts. Wonder if this is possible with a firmware update.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Meni
2021-3-16
Use props
Tom_A
Second Officer
Flight distance : 899951 ft
  • >>>
United States

I do recordings on a GoPro mounted to the top of a drone and sometimes set the frame rate to 60. I put the clips in a 24fps timeline and then set the speed of clips to 40%, 80%, or 120% depending on how fast I want that particular clip to play. Those percentages seem to play the smoothest. 80% works well for most of the clips especially if you flew pretty fast and want things to be a little slower and smoother.
2021-3-16
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team