Access to GPS data
10629 8 2021-4-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
jmgolio
lvl.3
Flight distance : 568865 ft
United States

I have been flying my DJI Mini 2 since December 2020.  I use it to document remote archaeology sites - especially prehistoric hilltop forts and dwellings.  Sometimes I might hike and climb to as many as 6 different sites in a day.  The problem that creates is how to separate my photos and videos by site.  It would really be valuable to me if I could access the lat/lon GPS information when I download videos/photos.  Since I always launch from inside ruins, I would only need the launch point GPS information to make this very useful to me.  That information must be stored at least during flight so that the aircraft can RTH if necessary.  Does anyone know if this information is accessible and how to access it?

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPNw_gqKvJOjAM5a6U48ZBQ
2021-4-2
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

The GPS data for the whole flight is recorded in the flight data on your phone or tablet.
If you've updated the Fly app to 1.2.2 or beyond, you need to use Airdata to access it, otherwise the Phantomhelp log viewer is better.

And each photo you take has metadata inside the image file that gives the precise location of the camera when the image was taken.
Search for Exif to learn about that.
2021-4-2
Use props
jmgolio
lvl.3
United States

Labroides Posted at 4-2 15:18
The GPS data for the whole flight is recorded in the flight data on your phone or tablet.
If you've updated the Fly app to 1.2.2 or beyond, you need to use Airdata to access it, otherwise the Phantomhelp log viewer is better.

Hey, thanks for responding.  I appreciate it.  But I fear I am too much of a beginner to understand your answer.  Specifically, I am not familiar with "Airdata".  Is that a software app?  How do I get access to it?  Learn to use it?