rmaxwell.dccnet
Second Officer
Flight distance : 698661 ft
  • >>>
Canada

Hi Folks,

Check this out:  http://gizmodo.com/firefighters- ... ecause-o-1718675039

Firefighters Can't Save People Burning In Cars Because of a Stupid Drone
My first flight instructor told me that safe flying is 10% flying ability and 90% judgment.

This news story indicates that the majority of people who buy and fly drones have very poor judgment.  They are ignorant of the rules regarding airspace.  Aircraft of any kind are not allowed to fly near forest fires.

There were five, did you hear me, five drones flying around this forest fire.  There were five ignorant, stupid people endangering others with their toys.

I am a professional who flies full scale aircraft, R/C aircraft, and camera carrying R/C aircraft for TV and movie productions.  I follow all of the rules and am qualified by long years of experience.

I now feel that no one should be able to buy a multi-rotor aircraft unless they are licensed.

There is going to be a very serious accident and then we are going to see very strong regulation of the whole scene.

Many of the posts on this forum indicate that this is a wide spread problem.  The posts indicate that many of the people on this forum don't understand the danger they are causing.

Don't fly over public places with inocent people below.  Don't fly above 400 ft.  Don't fly near airports.  Get permits from your aviation regulator before any operation.  Fly all test flights at fields regulated by model aircraft clubs.  Follow their safety rules.  If you cannot follow these simple rules, please, please find another hobby before you totally ruin this one!

Smarten up people!

Ray

2015-7-18
Use props
w1der
lvl.4

Sweden

My opinon ...
This debate is blown out of proportion.

Yes ... there are rules/regulations of what you may or may not do with your UAV.

But seriously ...
Why are they "grounding" rescue helicopters because there is UAVs in the area ?