compass mode
814 4 2021-5-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
philh
lvl.2
United Kingdom

Hi . Im new to flying a drone. I went to the park to do a test flight and the compass indicator on the map view did not indicate the orientation of the drone.
I came home and tried to fly in my living room. At first same thing: the map dispalyed but I couldnt see anything that indicated the orietation of the drone.
After a while, the map turned a sort of yellow colour and then the drone oreintation arrow appeared. I think it said updating home point.
Cna anyone explain what happened? Why does it sometimes display the drone oreintation and not other?
Some videos say there is a red arrow at the bottom of the screen which you can click on to get a bigger compass view and show you more information on the oreintation of the drone. I dont have that , instead I just have the find my drone box.
Any tips most welcome. Im a total newbie to drone flying. Thanks
2021-5-21
Use props
GaryDoug
First Officer
Flight distance : 1264639 ft
  • >>>
United States

I'm not sure what you are saying. But the indicator does not work until the GPS fix is ready...for both drone and phone/tablet. The drones GPS fix is when you get the home point message.

As for a red arrow, perhaps those videos were referencing the Litchi app, not the DJI Fly app. You should see a small map box there in the Fly app, or a direction indicator (blue arrow) depending on your last selection.
2021-5-21
Use props
philh
lvl.2
United Kingdom

Ok So I guess in the cases where I didn't have the indicator, the GPs wasn't ready. I presume I shouldn't fly the drone out of visual range until it is ready? And if it isn't, I just wait? How long would you typically wait to get one? Many thanks
2021-5-22
Use props
JJB*
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 12260774 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

philh Posted at 5-22 02:17