Mavic 3 CINE Vs Mavic 3, really worth spending the extra $$?
4764 11 2021-11-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
guillaumecornetfilms
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1987861 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Mavic 3 CINE Vs Mavic 3, is it really worth paying more for the CINE version?

Hi fam,

I'm a full-time filmmaker, do client work on a daily basis, use my drone all the time, and I'm used to working with pro-format (10bit, 16bit R3D, prores, whatever...) and I want the highest quality.
I'm more than happy to pay and invest for the right work tool that will help me bring my content to the next level, I'm just not sure the Mavic 3 Cine is worth the money over the Mavic 3 Standard

Let's be honest, I've played with some Mavic 3 footage and compared the H264/H265 and put it against the Prores, experimenting/trying to destroy the footage literally. My conclusion is as follow:

Arguments AGAINST getting the MAVIC 3 CINE:
  • H265 and Prores look exactly the same!!! I pushed the colors to the max, 1000% zoom, see picture below, can you tell me which one is which in??? I can't

• Prores vs H265 looks the same, feels the same, same sharpness, same dynamic range, same color grading capability. H264 for some reason has a slight color shift on the footage I was given but looks overall very close too, maybe a bit less sharp.

Arguments FOR getting the MAVIC 3 CINE:

• The biggest difference I've noticed is how good and easy prores is to edit. I was in full preview quality in Final Cut Pro on a 2019 Macbook Pro 16inch  and could scroll the 5K footage super quickly/smoothly straight with the unprocessed footage. The H264 and H265 were both very slow and would require proxies to edit smoothly on my machine.
  • You get the 1TB SSD internal storage and fast data transfer to the computer which means no need to buy an sd card