Mavic 3 DLOG - Histogram and Overexposure Indicators
5783 9 2021-11-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Chest Rockwell
lvl.3
United States

Hi Folks,

I received my Mavic 3 a little over a week ago and have done a couple of flights.  So far I'm loving it, but I'll admit I'm a bit rusty as it's been a couple of years since I've flown my M2P.

On the flights I've done so far, I used DLOG and exposed to the right on the histogram, about 2/3 to the right for most of my shots, and according to the screen I saw no overexposure indicators and the histogram I believe did not show any clipping in the highlights.  However, once I pulled the files into Premiere Pro, the highlights are not recoverable.

On my M2P, I remember exposing in DLOG using the histogram and getting overexposure/highlight indicators in the Go 4 app.  I'm new to the fly app - I don't mind it as much as other people seem to, I do miss some elements of Go 4 but I appreciate the clean real estate of Fly and I'm getting used to it.

So what I'm wondering is this:

• For those that have tried, is the histogram working correctly in DLOG?
  • If it is working correctly, how do I confidently not over-expose highlights?  I was thinking I could set my exposure using the normal color profile and then just switch over, but that seems like more work than should be necessary.  I think yesterday when I was flying I was somewhere around +2.0 or +3.0 EV, but again I didn't see any overexposure in the histogram (it was cold and I was doing a quick test during my lunch break so I didn't want to run inside and grab the ND filters).
  • Unrelated to histograms but related to the Fly app -- is there a way to lock auto focus?  Or do people usually shoot in manual focus with peaking?