First time drone user's impressions
667 13 2022-5-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Anhunedd
lvl.1
Flight distance : 22175 ft
United Kingdom

Been interesting reading all the posts here, and thought I'd put in my own observations as a first time drone user. I'm not a YouTuber, nor do I intend to be, and although I like my stills photography, I'm not a professional by any means. This purchase was just to have something cool to use while out walking. Sure, I could have perhaps bought something simpler or cheaper for a first drone, but this seemed to hit all the right buttons for me.

The bottom line can be summed up with the meme from Robocop (the decent one...) - "I Like It!" (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6F6u5TIUbI)

Out of the box, it's performed brilliantly. Here's a video from my very first flight. Unedited - just straight off the drone.

This is a device that a newbie can take out of the box, and within a couple of hours have some decent videos. As one of my friends said, "It's like watching Emmerdale".

I'm not worried about range - a few hundred metres will suit everything I want to do. I'm not worried about battery life - I might get another battery for convenience, but I tested recharging it back from about 50% used to full off an Anker powerbank I had, and it only took 20-30 minutes, and there's enough power in the bank for about 3 full recharges by my calculations - so I can go out walking, stop, fly for 10 minutes, plug it in to the powerbank, walk some more, and be back to full. Repeat. I'm not a pixel peeper - the 12MP Raw images I took seemed to be fine in Lightroom when I hit Auto, and the JPGs were perfectly good to share or print to A4.