Replacing the ESC board for 'Battery Signal Error'
1061 1 2022-6-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ChrisE99
New

South Africa

Hi All,
This is my first post. I think this doesn't violate the forum rules as this doesn't count as a modification, but rather a repair.

I am new to the drone world and was recently given a Mavic Air 1 destined for the rubbish bin. Around two years ago the drone took a dip in fresh water for a few minutes due to pilot error (flying too close to a waterfall). The mavic was retrieved and battery removed before being left out to dry completely. The previous owner was unable to get the drone to fly afterwards. Fast forward two years and the mavic is now in my possesion.

Initial tests indicated that the MA is 99% functional apart from a 'Battery Signal Error' that prevents takeoff; the camera, flight sensors, IMU, GPS, etc are all functional and calibrate without issues or errors. Rotors spin smoothly (with expected cogging) and move during the start up process. The batteries charge and 'function' without errors, however I have retired one as it is showing very slight cell swelling/off-gassing.

I disassembled the MA to inspect for damages expecting the worst but found no visible corrision but did see mineral deposits/white dust on the EMI covers on the main/CPU PCB. There is slight corrosion/discolouring on a few contacts on the main camera cable connector however the camera 100% functional. I cleaned the boards and connections with PCB/electronics cleaning spray but the 'battery signal error' is still present (not that I expected things to be that easy).