3037 29 2022-7-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
JMR58
First Officer
Flight distance : 627966 ft
  • >>>
Belgium

Hi everybody, i lost my mini 3 because i tried a hand launch from the back of a sailing boat, i used auto-take-off and it raised out of my hand but within a second it crashed and sunk.
I am sure a manual launch gives the take-off more power to raise the ac and keeps it more steady, so.. fellow drone pilots be aware of hand launching mini 3 from moving platform!
I have some experience with Dji drones on solid grounds but prepairing my first take off from a boat with some new safety settings, like no-distance-limit and hovering at HP didn't make me feel comfortable, so rely on your intuition if so, and don't do it.

Dji support analysed my mistake very clear and conform the manual, they also assisted with the Care Refresh insurance.
See Dji Analysis conclusion:

1. The aircraft worked under GPS mode in this flight. There was a horizontal speed of 2.9 m/s when the aircraft took off, which indicated that the aircraft was launched from a moving platform;

2. Flight Time T=00:02, Relative Height H=0 m, Distance to Home Point D=3.9 m, Infrared Height H=0 m, the aircraft crashed;

3. The incident coordinate: 51.1508128 2.5936257.

As a conclusion, according to the analysis, the incident was caused due to an improper flight environment. We kindly ask you to please  do not launch the aircraft from a moving platform.

greetings JM

2022-7-8
Use props
The Saint
First Officer
Flight distance : 5902228 ft
  • >>>
United States

having never launched while moving and rarely launching by hand, i might add that it was less about stability and more about some sort of confusion resulting in out of control flight which happened to be downward?  i remember there was a drone that had a "boat mode" setting which i think would allow it to take off....but in any case, curious why you didn't start the motors and then lift with the sticks as opposed to auto-takeoff?