Police said I can't fly
564 7 2022-7-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Mark F
lvl.1
Flight distance : 606240 ft
United Kingdom

There has been quite a big fire near me last night which severely damaged at least one house. Fortunately no serious injuries. However it does seem to be a case of arson.

Wanting  a look I drove to the site and seeing there were police standing there I said I was a drone hobbyist and asked if it was ok to fly. I offered any photos just in case they would be of any use.

The police point blank refused to allow me fly, and, not wanting to create a scene, I left.

However the location is not in a no fly zone, so as long as I keep the drone high enough so I don't cause a nuisance I can't see a problem.

Do the police have the right to refuse permission? If so would this be due to it being a crime scene?

Thanks for any guidance.

I fly a mini 2

2022-7-29
Use props
Mr. Strat
Second Officer
Flight distance : 4542854 ft
United States

It is against the rules to fly in an area of police and fire response/emergency. And since you would not be flying for recreational purposes, you would need a 107 license.
2022-7-29
Use props
Mark F
lvl.1
United Kingdom

Mr. Strat Posted at 7-29 19:03
It is against the rules to fly in an area of police and fire response/emergency. And since you would not be flying for recreational purposes, you would need a 107 license.

sorry Mr Strat, I should. have made it clearer. I'm in England so 107 doesn't apply.
2022-7-31
Use props
fateofangel
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1397238 ft
Poland

Mark F Posted at 7-31 02:28
sorry Mr Strat, I should. have made it clearer. I'm in England so 107 doesn't apply.

yes they have :/ even if they dont, what woould you do
2022-8-2
Use props
FPVin
lvl.4
Flight distance : 300502 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom