DJI Fly App Constantly Causing iPhone to Overheat And Dimmed
5707 34 2022-9-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Eric L
lvl.2
Flight distance : 2429659 ft
United States

My iPhone 12 Pro Max will consistently dim out and starts overheating a couple of mins after connecting to my Mavic Air 2S, through DJI Fly app. It is pretty dangerous since the screen will get darken to a level that is next to pitch black, making it almost impossible to watch and navigate. Needless to say, it is also extremely frustating since I cannot get a smooth flight longer than 3-5 mins, before the screen blacks out and the phone starts to become burning hot.

I had been flying my Air 2S for almost 10 months now, and this issue started to occur in recent couple of months, starting from May, as summer sets in. I noticed that this problem will be more frequent in sunny days, while I fly out in the open, although a hot, cloudy day doesn't guarantee this won't happen.
Edit: While compiling this article, I noticed that iPhone will overheat simply by launching the app itself - No connection to RC needed. I kept my DJI drone in the bag, and launched my DJI Fly app to check my saved videos and past histories, and after couple of minutes it overheatted.

I had been searching for possible solutions, but it seems many people who suffered from this issue has a common conclusion: there are no solution yet, as of summer 2022.

Links:
https://forum.dji.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=246827  
https://forum.dji.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=267037

Another forum:
mavicpilots.com/threads/iphone-temperature-causing-dim-screen-with-dji-fly.113524/

As as usual, I checked the list of possible fixes and solutions online:
- Took firmware updates for my drone & controller
- Made sure my phone was not charging off the controller- Remove phone case
- Terminate all background apps
- Turn off bluetooth
- Turn on airplane mode
- Reinstalling app