1669 8 2022-9-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MTengineer
lvl.2
Flight distance : 10502070 ft
France

Hi there,
I'm hand-launching and landing a Mavic 3 as I work on a large yacht and I'm regularly putting our drones up to capture the places where we navigate. I've been flying the Mavic 2 Pro and Zoom models for a few years and somewhat recently got the Mavic 3 aboard. I'm finding that when hand-landing while underway after a flight where I bring the drone close to be grabbed by a crew member that the Mavic 3 surges dangerously forward without my input. This does not happen with our Mavic 2 models and appears to be a new bug with the Mavic 3.

I have Obstacle Avoidance turned off completely (as I need it off so it doesn't avoid my crew member's hands who are about to catch it). The surging doesn't happen if we aren't moving so it must be something to do with the sensors seing a fixed surface with the world around it moving. The surging happens when in Normal, Sport, or Cine mode. Surprisingly, in Cine mode, even when we slow the boat to where it can just barely approach the vessel's speed, it still jumps forward at a faster speed than Cine mode is supposed to allow. This also happens in Sport mode where it specifically tells me that the obstacle avoidance is turned off in addition to the Safety setting where I've already turned it off. This is dangerous behavior and it seems that when the obstacle avoidance is turned off with the Mavic 3, it is NOT truly "off". I'm an experienced pilot with a few hundred hours with all sorts of DJI drones in extreme weather conditions and I essentially just want the drone to fly in manual mode, letting me do the hard work of bringing it home.

Below are my firmware versions:
Aircraft Firmware: 01.00.0800
RC Firmware: 03.01.0800

I'm running the DJI RC Pro remote as well if that matters. Happy to provide flight logs if anyone can assist in helping me export them as my initial search didn't turn up many results.