DJI Avata Propeller Failure Mid-Flight - Avata too sketchy to fly?
2595 16 2022-11-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
flyingrob
lvl.1
Flight distance : 380902 ft
United States

I had a propeller fail and fly off mid-flight today, leaving the two screws in the motor.  The incident happened several minutes into the flight, flying straight, and pre-flight visual inspection showed no sign of a failing or damaged propeller.  This was a factory instally propeller, so unless they over-tightened it, it was properly installed.

I'm relatively new to the Avata and to FPV, but this kind of issue really makes me think again about using this drone for professional work, as it can presumably fall out of the sky at any moment.  Is there a way to inspect props reliably before flights, or is it just a matter of time before these props fail, and you just hope for the best?

two screws fully intact after crashing show the propeller failed and flew off

two screws fully intact after crashing show the propeller failed and flew off
2022-11-2
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello there flyingrob. I am sorry to know what happened to your DJI Avata. Since this unfortunate event happened it would be best to send the DJI unit in for proper assessment. Kindly please find this DJI link ( https://dji.com/support?site=brandsite&from=nav ) helpful in contacting our DJI Support Team for further assistance. Again, I am sorry and thank you.
2022-11-2
Use props
DowntownRDB
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 1722 ft
  • >>>
United States

Yikes, that's not good.  Appears to have been a manufacturing defect on the prop.  
2022-11-3
Use props
celltx
lvl.4
Flight distance : 7399311 ft

Israel

I wonder if it's possible to modify the firmware to fly on 3 propellers in case of 4th propeller or motor failure? This would be sort of emergency mode in case of need.

For that, one might need to reverse the rotation of one of the propellers. Does DJI ESC support the reversing?
2022-11-3
Use props