Two fried motors in my first flight
2070 6 2015-8-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
aparashoudis
lvl.1

Greece

Dear all,

As i am a newbie in the quadcopter world, i did my first flight ever yesterday, which resulted in two fried motors. After my research, i decided to buy the following parts for my first quadcopter. Those are:

DJI F450 frame with its extension legs
DJI E310 tuned propulsion kit ( 2312 motor, 420S ESC, 9450 props)
APM 2.6 flight controller with gps module
Multistar 10000mah 4S 10C battery
TURNIGY 9XR radio with FRsky DJT transmitter and V8FRii receiver

The quadcopter should be in the 1,5-2kg range of takeoff weight.

So, I tried to do my first ever flights by slowly hovering over the ground for 10-15 seconds in order to see how the quadcopter responds. I had a couple of turnover to the side of the quadcopter during landing but without damages as the speeds were slow. However, in my last effort, the quadcopter landed and felt to the side with the 2 props attaching to ground. All The props didnt stop spinning and after 3-4 seconds i saw smokes coming out of 2 motors. In my panic i turned off the radio but it kept spinning a little faster and then i unplugged straight the battery cable.
After going back home, i tested all the ESCs with the DJI assistant software using a good motor and the result message was "motor parameters are OK".

1) does that mean that my ESCs are indeed ok and i can use them again?

After my cross checks i will need 2 new motors.
So, i need to find what caused these 2 fried motors.

2) in order to avoid cutting the long cable of the ESCs, i wrapped it around the quadcopter arm. Can this cause a fried motor?
3) is there a chance that with the prop attaching to ground and the quadcopter keep working, the fried motor was caused by the fact that the ESC kept sending signal but the motor/prop couldnt follow???